Deaf/Hard of Hearing

Deaf/Hard of Hearing

News to Know:

Communication Resources:

  • Purple - At Purple, we’re dedicated to developing fast, easy and convenient communications solutions and services for Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals and businesses using a variety of different platforms. As a leading provider of on-site interpreting services, video relay services (VRS), text relay services and video remote interpreting (VRI), Purple has built an excellent reputation for developing products and services that open communications between all people, regardless of differences in abilities, languages and locations.
  • ZVRS - ZVRS was the first video relay company in the United States, starting out as CSDVRS in Austin, Texas in 1999.  We have since come a long way—adding videophones, software, services and features to make your video communication experience a positive one!

iPad Resources:

State & Regional Contacts

Mary Cashman-Bakken
Minnesota Department of Special Education D/HH Specialist
1600 Snelling Ave S
Roseville, MN
Ph. 651-582-8373

Region 10 DHH Network Members:

FIRST LAST DISTRICT EMAIL
Marydee KuKlock Norhtfield marydee.kuklock@nfld.k12.mn.us
Angela Dahlen Red Wing aldahlen@redwing.k12.mn.us
Ann Vail ZED – Albert Lea avail@zumbroed.org
Heather Pudas Northfield HEATHER.PUDAS@NFLD.K12.MN.US
Jane Bresnahan Rochester jabresnahan@rochester.k12.mn.us
Kathleen Knott Rochester kaknott@rochester.k12.mn.us
Kathy Anderson Metro Ecsu kathy.anderson@metroecsu.org
Katie Ulwelling Austin katie.ulwelling@austin.k12.mn.us
Mary Cashman-bakken MDE mary.cashman-bakken@state.mn.us
Paula Birch fillmore-Kingsland Paula.birch@isd2198.k12.mn.us
Rachal Baker MSAB rachel.baker@msad.state.mn.us
Rebecca Johnson Owatonna rjohnson3@owatonna.k12.mn.us
Sheri Crowley Rochester shcrowley@rochester.k12.mn.us
Sherry Anderson Faribault sanderson@faribault.k12.mn.us
Withrow Diana Glenville-Emmons withrowd@geschools.com

Region 10 Educational Audiologists:

Deb Walters-Smith - Rochester

Jill Womeldorff - Goodhue County Education District

Sarah Kahley - Zumbro Education District

Todd Erickson - Hiawatha Valley Education District

Twitter Feed
Region 10 Events
  • Events on April 16, 2014
    • ASD Network Mtg

      Starts: 9:00 am

      Ends: 2:20 pm, April 16, 2014

      Location: Austin

    • Topic: Take a Tour: Learn About Universal Design for Learning

      Starts: 5:00 pm

      Ends: 5:50 pm, April 16, 2014

      Location: Register at: https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/646256738

      Description: Description: Do you want to learn more about UDL? In this webinar patrons will navigate through

      questions and resources. We will build background knowledge of the UDL framework, learn how to

      apply UDL to your instructional practice, and make connections between UDL and other frameworks and

      initiatives.

      Date: April 16, 2014

      Time: 5:00pm-5:30pm EST

      Presenters: Jeff McCormick

      Hosted by: OCALI

  • Events on April 17, 2014
    • Topic: Data Review – Will This AT Be Appropriate Next Year?

      Starts: 5:00 pm

      Ends: 5:50 pm, April 17, 2014

      Location: Register at: http://mits.cenmi.org/

      Description: Description: Now that the year is wrapping up, it’s time to review the data that’s been gathered around

      the impact the AT had for each student this year. Has progress been made in the areas that were difficult

      or impossible? Did the AT that was implemented this year make a significant difference for a student?

      Will it be functional for next years’ educational expectations? This webinar will look at what to do with

      data gathered over the course of this past school year and what steps need to be taken for AT to be in

      place for the student in the fall.

      Date: April 17, 2014

      Time: 5:00pm-5:30pm

      Presenter: Laura Taylor

      Hosted by: MITS

  • Events on May 2, 2014
    • PHD Network Mtg

      Starts: 9:00 am

      Ends: 2:20 pm, May 2, 2014

      Location: ZED

  • Events on May 7, 2014
    • MASE Best Practices

      Starts: 12:00 am

      Ends: 12:00 am, May 10, 2014

      Location: Craguns

    • DHH Network Mtg

      Starts: 1:00 pm

      Ends: 3:20 pm, May 7, 2014

      Location: Best Western Soldiers Field

  • Events on May 8, 2014
    • Coordinator Meeting

      Starts: 9:00 am

      Ends: 11:50 am, May 8, 2014

      Location: ZED

  • Events on May 9, 2014
    • Director Meeting

      Starts: 8:00 am

      Ends: 12:00 pm, May 9, 2014

      Location: ZED

    • AT Network Mtg

      Starts: 12:30 pm

      Ends: 3:20 pm, May 9, 2014

      Location: ZED

  • Events on May 13, 2014
    • CoE PDF Monthly Meeting

      Starts: 12:00 am

      Ends: 12:00 am, May 14, 2014

      Location: Metro ECSU