Deaf/Hard of Hearing

MN Department of Education information on Part B / Part C services:

Part B 619 Post Referral Actions  – 11/18/14

Expanded Core Curriculum for D/HH

MSAD

  • MN Resource Libraries
    MN Resource Libraries is a statewide library providing information and resources to help families and educators meet the educational needs of Minnesota children and youth who have a hearing and or vision loss.
  • MN Resource Libraries Online Catalog

Hearing Simulations:

What it sounds like to have a hearing loss.

Tips when working with students who are Deaf / Hard of Hearing

News to Know:

Communication Resources:

  • Purple – At Purple, we’re dedicated to developing fast, easy and convenient communications solutions and services for Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals and businesses using a variety of different platforms. As a leading provider of on-site interpreting services, video relay services (VRS), text relay services and video remote interpreting (VRI), Purple has built an excellent reputation for developing products and services that open communications between all people, regardless of differences in abilities, languages and locations.
  • ZVRS – ZVRS was the first video relay company in the United States, starting out as CSDVRS in Austin, Texas in 1999.  We have since come a long way—adding videophones, software, services and features to make your video communication experience a positive one!

iPad Resources:

State & Regional Contacts

Mary Cashman-Bakken
Minnesota Department of Special Education D/HH Specialist
1600 Snelling Ave S
Roseville, MN
Ph. 651-582-8373

Region 10 DHH Network Members:

FIRST LAST DISTRICT EMAIL
Marydee KuKlock Norhtfield marydee.kuklock@nfld.k12.mn.us
Angela Dahlen Red Wing aldahlen@redwing.k12.mn.us
Ann Vail ZED – Albert Lea avail@zumbroed.org
Heather Pudas Northfield HEATHER.PUDAS@NFLD.K12.MN.US
Jane Bresnahan Rochester jabresnahan@rochester.k12.mn.us
Kathleen Knott Rochester kaknott@rochester.k12.mn.us
Kathy Anderson Metro Ecsu kathy.anderson@metroecsu.org
Lyndsey Raffelson Austin lyndsey.raffelson@austin.k12.mn.us
Mary Cashman-bakken MDE mary.cashman-bakken@state.mn.us
Paula Birch fillmore-Kingsland Paula.birch@isd2198.k12.mn.us
Rachal Baker MSAB rachel.baker@msad.state.mn.us
Rebecca Johnson Owatonna rjohnson3@owatonna.k12.mn.us
Sheri Crowley Rochester shcrowley@rochester.k12.mn.us
Sherry Anderson Faribault sanderson@faribault.k12.mn.us
Withrow Diana Glenville-Emmons withrowd@geschools.com

Region 10 Educational Audiologists:

Deb Walters-Smith – Rochester

Jill Womeldorff – Goodhue County Education District, Northfield, Faribault

Katy Balvance – Zumbro Education District

Todd Erickson – Hiawatha Valley Education District

Heather Osgood – Austin

Twitter Feed
Region 10 Events
Events on June 1, 2015

IEIC Reporter Survey

Starts: 12:00 pm

Ends: 12:50 pm, June 1, 2015

Location: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/32N82CN

Description: You have received this email as you have been identified as the intake person who receives referrals for B-3 students in your district/special education district.

To: Reporters of ECSE Part C Referrals

From: Your Regional IEIC

Purpose: To collect information regarding referral sources in order to fill gaps in child find outreach activities. The data collected will be analyzed by the Outreach Sub-Committee of the Region 10 IEIC in order to identify where we need to target additional outreach activities and improve our regional child find efforts.

Process: Please click on this LINK: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/32N82CN

in order complete a short survey regarding your referral data. You will be recording referrals quarterly.

The dates are:

* Quarter 1 - July 1 through September 30, 2014

* Quarter 2 - October 1 through December 31, 2014

* Quarter 3 - January 1 through March 31, 2015

* Quarter 4 - April 1 through June 30, 2015

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,
Region 10 IEIC